M – Mine

Of things new and old
and lost and found
I write with a burden that is not unknown

When I wake up next to you
knowing that you will never be mine
or I, yours
I take it that the night was ours

the blankness on white papers.
they remind me of your face
when you are holding mine
not promising
not thinking
not even wondering
just watching and feeling.

I like how you let it be
just like the papers before they are written on

being with you is like writing
but you won’t agree.
I wrote this. See?
while I was thinking of how you look
and laugh and write and live.

Leave a Reply

