Waffles and Holige

When Richard Gilmore instructs Lorelai to start her day with half a grape fruit in Gilmore Girls, I was disturbed. I thought a grape fruit was grape and couldn’t understand why somebody sensible would tell people to begin their day with some peanut sized fruit. Months later somebody told me that grape fruits are what we call mosambis. I couldn’t tell if I felt more amused or stupid. I had had a Secret Seven flashback. In one of their adventures, The Secret Seven come across a cave that they decide, will be their meeting place. They start decorating the cave with all manner of food and drinks. There are cookies and marmalade and ginger buns and croissants and lemonade. The closest I came to tasting a cousin of the lemonade was Rasna. I was not happy. When I sent mother out to bring me cookies, she got me Good day biscuits and said that all the shops that she went to gave her biscuits when she asked for cookies.

I came across the word waffles in an american TV show. I tasted a domestic version of it years ago and disliked it immediately. The waiter brought to my table what looked like holige/obattu with maple syrup. A month ago, I saw a packet of giant cookies smiling at me from the table. Dad’s friends from Belgium had paid us a visit. I smiled and felt great affection for my dad because he socializes and everything. I took a bite and cried. Call me crazy, I have never tasted waffles, but deep in my mouth, I knew that this is what waffles taste like. I am not a big fan of sharing food, especially when I love what I am eating. I gobbled my way to 30 waffles in 2 straight days and looked like the constipated cow in Tom & Jerry for the rest of the week.

Sushi, like the far away cousin one has always been curious about came to me only recently. But all the wait seems to have been worth it because my best days have sushi in them, or the kimbabs that I am especially fond of. I seem to enjoy eating Korean food now. I like that I can eat most of it with sticky rice, I like that the kimbabs aren’t hot, I like that the food is mostly dry, I like that I can eat it real slow and nothing is going to get colder.

I need to come out of my Spaghetti- fiasco and start trying to cook again. I miss it.

Leave a Reply

